Sunday Update

Good evening to you all. I am so sorry but I haven’t blogged (is that an actual word) for a while, the reasons will become evident in this post. So here’s what’s been happening in my world?

In April, I participated in Camp NanoWrimo, which is a bit of a writers personal challenge. Basically the idea is that you set yourself a writing goal, say twenty thousand words and throughout the whole month you are writing towards that goal. I started off badly and it went downhill from there. I had a lot going on in my life, was thoroughly miserable at work and just couldn’t muster the energy to write. I wrote an article on mental health but since, I just haven’t had the motivation.

Needless to say, I failed to get anywhere near my target for April and I think this, combined with everything else that was going on made me lose my enthusiasm for writing. I couldn’t even muster the strength to read over Invisible.

Sadly things didn’t improve until July, when I was offered a new job at a local company. I think it helped a little as I knew the owner and two other people who already worked there, but my mood instantly improved. I’ve been with this company two weeks and already feel more appreciated than I did in almost five years at my other place. And I’m also enjoying life a little more again, something that has been eluding me for a long while.

I think I put too much pressure on myself at camp Nanowrimo. It was supposed to be fun but for some reason I just couldn’t cope. I’ll have to think whether I want to participate in the future.

So what else have I been up to? Well I remember telling you about an Internet series I want to produce and I’ve been working on that. After about nine (yes nine, 9, nove, neuf, neun, nueve, devet, go on who’s going to work out what language that last one is?) re-writes, I’ve finally settled on the opening scenes. It’s going to be quirky, fun and for pretty much all ages. I’m going to say more a little closer to it going live.

I’ve been working on Invisible recently, going over it with a fine toothcomb and making any necessary amendments before it goes live on Kindle, hopefully around mid-autumn. I’ve given up trying to get it published traditionally and will be getting it into print myself, so a digital and true book version will be available.

Oh, almost forgot but I went to my first concert in I don’t know how many years in May when I went to see Andy Black with my daughter. If you’ve never heard of him, he is the lead singer in a band called Black Veil Brides, but was doing a solo tour. If you Google Black Veil Brides you will see why I was apprehensive about going. But I really enjoyed the concert and Andy Black now has a new fan. In fact I’ve also been listening to some BVB music and I’m really into them now to a point where I have agreed to go with my daughter when they tour the UK next year. Think I’ll have to get some war paint as well!

I also want to apologise for a recent Twitter rant I had which may have offended some people. The day I left my last job I discovered someone I considered a friend was making some quite hateful remarks and comments about me. Usually I ignore people like that but, as I considered her to be a friend I was really hurt and upset by what was being said. Over the course of the next few days, I discovered more of what she had said and basically lost it.

That is not usually like me so, sincerely I apologise to if anyone was offended as I did make some rather horrible remarks myself.

One more thing before I go……Welcome Pep. I’ve been impressed by the team so far, keep it going boys.

Well, that’s it for now, thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy the rest of your bank holiday weekend. I have a beer next to me so you can pretty much guess I’m enjoying it.

Take care and be well

Pete

PS, the answer to the teaser above was Slovenian.

PPS it’s good to be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

